Adwords and the Election – Labour bids for “David Cameron”

As a follow up to my blog on adwords where I talked about bidding for a competitor’s brand, I thought you might like this article from the BBC

http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/thereporters/rorycellanjones/2010/04/the_google_political_ad_war.html

So both Labour and Anne Summers appear to be bidding for the search term “David Cameron”.

I have thought of about 10 Anne Summers jokes to use here – but I am self censoring. Feel free to add your own in the comments (although I reserve the right not to publish these).

This also reminds me of the huge part Google and Youtube played in the last US presidential election.  No doubt each party will  have its own team search engine optimisers and web spinners (spiders?) working on this election.

Also as an aside one of my contacts from the pub (cutmustard.tv) tells me that your Google ranking shoots up if you have a link to a properly tagged youtube video. I don’t know if this is true but given that Google owns Youtube it sounds credible.

Have a good weekend.

1 Response to “Adwords and the Election – Labour bids for “David Cameron””



  1. 1 New Lingo Alert – BAdword « TechBlog Trackback on May 5, 2010 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter: @BrodiesTechBlog feed

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

